Resolutions. To do or not to do?


Ever since I was a little girl I would attempt to make New Year’s resolutions. A couple of years ago I even wrote them down and sealed them in an envelope so that I could read them a year later. In that envelope was a resolution to be back into a bikini by summer. I’m still sporting a conservative one piece. I guess there’s room for improvement in my success rate.

Last year life came at us hard. The weakened economy hit our home full force, kids were going wacko with hormonal changes, and I was trying my best to remain sane while working like a mad woman. I don’t believe I ever took time to make a resolution of any kind last year, yet I made some amazing changes. I have grown a lot as a person this last year. I learned a lot about faith. And love. Family and friends. I’m eager to continue growing in this manner, so I’ve been thinking a lot about resolutions.

This year I’m still trying to zero in on a few to make that are doable and profitable. I still haven’t made my mind up. There’s so much I could be working on spiritually, physically, professionally, and emotionally. This morning at church, the minister speaking challenged me to go home and tackle four tasks: Define my values. Determine my priorities. Discover my life purpose. Discipline my mind.

The struggle is this. I am having a harder time with this than I care to admit. These are issues I should already be pretty sure of. My husband tried to breach this topic with me a month or so ago, and I shrugged him off. Yes, I was too busy to discuss such heavy issues at the time, but I think my shrugging was related to a bit more. I don’t think I completely understand and know what my values and priorities are. I am not sure what my life purpose is, and I know I am not disciplining my mind as much as I should.

Don’t get me wrong. I know what all of these things should be, but I’m not living up to them. I used to be certain of my values, had very determined priorities, and pretty much knew my purpose. And I was disciplined like no one else. But something happened to me over the years. Life’s curve balls made me look at things differently, and I think I lost a bit of who I am at the core. And I’ve not reconfigured all of who I am and what I believe in. Why? I’m not sure. Laziness? Lack of faith? Discouragement from past obstacles I’ve encountered? Fear? For whatever reason, I can tell I’m avoiding the challenge today in the same manner I was a month ago.

So, I think I will resolve to discover and understand my values, priorities, and purpose. I also resolve to discipline my mind so that I’m not afraid to take a long, deep look at myself. I know I have to work on my attitude. I’ve allowed myself to become quite the cynic at times, and I don’t want my cynicism to turn into bitterness. I had already resolved to change my attitude and how I view things in life. My hope is that as I work on improving my attitude, I will discover more important things about myself so that I can get my values and priorities in line. I guess this is a good start.

Are there any other resolutions I’ve made? Well, I resolve to keep off the weight I worked so hard to lose by beginning to run, and I resolve to tone up what fat is left. After all, I still want to be in a bikini by summer. Maybe I should write that one down and seal it in an envelope.

Now it’s your turn. What resolutions did you make?

Published in: on January 4, 2010 at 5:09 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2010/01/04/resolutions-to-do-or-not-to-do/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think there is a lot of stuff going on with those wanting to make and keep resolutions. There is so much to do, and we feel so limited in regards for time. I can only imagine that you are feeling some of the same things, too. Just do a bit more than you did yesterday, try to be a bit better in whatever it is that you are trying for. Don’t let setbacks bring you down…acknowledge them, but then move onward and upward.

    You go, girl!

    As for MY resolutions? Keep on, keepin’ on.

    That is resolution enough.

    • Mr. Z,
      I’ll take your advice, and I agree that keep on, keepin’ on is resolution enough!


Leave a Reply

