Neighborhood Watch: Part ???

Last summer my husband and I tried to initiate a neighborhood watch program in our neighborhood. This was no easy task, and before I knew it summer was up and school had begun. Neighborhood watch efforts quickly screached to a halt. For a while, it seemed that most unethical behaviors did too. I guess drug dealers and drug buyers feel the need to hibernate as much as the rest of us. But then spring came. The sun came out, temperatures began to rise, flowers began to bloom, and business began to boom. Literally!

Due to a weakened economy, houses are beginning to empty, and they are just sitting. No for sale signs, no for rent signs, nothing. Just vacant homes with lawns for ill-intending teens and young adults to loiter on. Last week I let my emotions get the best of me and shooed away some young people from a nearby vacant lot. Later I prayed about the best way to handle future situations of this sort, and I realize that I must reach out with firmness and love.

A police search involving about twenty officers (several in bullet proof vests) around a nearby home has caused me to resurrect my neighborhood watch efforts. I am trying more aggressively than ever to solicit help in reaching the neighbors we haven’t been able to reach. At last count we had almost 50% of the neighborhood willing to participate in the COPS program. We must have 75%. This means we’re almost 2/3 of the way there. Some people who were on board last time have since moved, so that means we have a little back paddling to do, but I feel confident we can do it. Please remember my neighborhood in your prayers tonight. We need all the “intervention” we can get!

Published in: on April 30, 2009 at 6:08 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2009/04/30/neighborhood-watch-part/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

