Slowly getting in the spirit…

I thought the cartoon above was cute. It’s sad, but this is the attitude many of us take with the holidays. However, my negative outlook on the season is just as harmful as forgetting why we celebrate Christmas. In fact, it may be worse, because there’s nothing worse than being around a sourpuss during the holidays.

Did you notice the new look of my page? It’s festive! It makes me want to sing a Christmas carol. This was step one toward trying to get in the mood, if you know what I mean.

Step 2: Yesterday I took my kids shopping. They had asked if they could buy a gift for each other. So we gave them a modest $10 budget to spend on each other, and they were told to get creative. We broke up into teams. Maddie and I shopped for Noah, and Chris and Noah shopped for Maddie. It was a lot of fun watching the kids get excited about surprising each other. In fact I caught myself singing, “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!” while scouring the mall. Uh-oh…

Step 3: Today I stopped by WalMart on my way home to pick up some yarn, ribbon, and jingle bells so that I could begin wrapping presents. I came home and wrapped a few presents, and I was beginning to have…. GASP… fun! There, I said it. But then Chris and I began disagreeing on how holiday festivities should go down, so now I’m back in my sourpuss mood. We are having a really hard time coming together this year on how the holiday festivities should roll out. It’s like we’re picking a color for our bedroom walls all over again. Only this time it’s quarreling over what kind of food we should serve at Christmas. Here is a picture of how things looked at our house tonight:

Not really. It’d probably be more realistic if the above couple were pointing hairdryers at one another. But, hey, we’ll get work it out. We always find a way to compromise.

I am not a negative person normally. Cynical at times, but not negative. I don’t know what happens to me this time of year. I think it’s all the stress. Finals and grades are due, students are rambunctious, gifts still need to be bought, but work days are long. This is also the year Maddie and Noah spend Christmas with their dad. I thought I’d be use to this by now, but I’m not. I just want some type of steady tradition. But as Chris pointed out, our family is too big for steadies this time of year. He keeps telling me to be more flexible and less bullheaded, but that is so hard for me to do. The more stressed I get, the deeper I want to dig my heels in.

Tonight, I am going to go downstairs and clean up the remnants of my wrapping fiasco. I am going to come back upstairs, take a nice, long, hot bath, and then I am going to climb in bed and get a head start on this week’s homework. When I wake up tomorrow, I will give this whole holiday cheerfulness thing another go. Don’t worry, I’ll end up smiling before the month is over:).

Published in: on December 16, 2008 at 6:06 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/12/16/slowly-getting-in-the-spirit/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thank you so much for your nice comments on my “Painting Party” post! It was great hearing from you!

    I’m sorry to hear the Christmas season had you down. I hope you’re now smiling!


Leave a Reply

