A perfectly malformed gift…


I came in to work yesterday to discover a gerbera daisy sitting on my table. I LOVE gerberas! But for some reason, I wasn’t loving this one so much. Something just wasn’t “right” about it.

Upon closer examination, I noticed that the gerbera had two eyes grown together. It was like a Siamese twin of sorts. I thought to myself, “How could someone not notice this flower looking so weird, and why would they give it to someone as a gift?”.

It turns out the flower was from my friend Carrie because she wanted to tell me congratulations on being a T.O.T.Y. (Teacher of the Year) finalist. It was the sweetest gesture, so I didn’t have the heart to ask her if she noticed its deformities.

As I turned to walk back into my classroom she asked me, “Did you notice it’s retarded?”.

“Yeah,” I laughed. “I noticed it has two eyes.”

“It has two stems grown together too. I felt sorry for it because I knew no one would ever buy or appreciate such a deformed flower. I knew it would just sit there and die, so I bought it for you. I noticed it has some new buds growing. I am pretty sure you can replant it. I figured if anyone would plant it, care for it, and be patient enough to see if what those new buds might produce, it would be you. ”

What an analogy! Her words meant a lot to me at the time, but the more I ponder them, the more meaning they have. What a compliment, and what a gift to have a friend who holds that kind of faith in me as a person. I mean, she saw its beauty first. What does that say about her character versus mine?

And you know what? I don’t think I’ve ever seen a more beautiful flower. I do plan to replant it and nurture it, but if all the buds turn out the same way, I don’t think I’ll be a bit disappointed. It’s all about perspective.

Published in: on September 7, 2008 at 1:56 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/09/07/malformed-gifts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sort of like how you feel about the kids you teach…you don’t care who they are or what they look like, you’ll love them and teach them all the same.

    You, my friend, are amazing!

  2. My favorite kinda flower!

  3. What a wonderful analogy!!! It’s a beautiful flower for a very deserving person. Congrats on the nomination!


Leave a Reply

