New earrings and really great hair…


My friend Carrie went to Greece this summer, and she was sweet enough to bring me back a pair earrings made from real coral and lava. How cool is that?! I would write more about how great they look, but I am having trouble moving past the topic of how great my hair looks! I think this is my favorite haircut Nancy has given me yet. She even gave me subtle highlights so I can look like I’ve been in the sun all summer. After Carrie took my picture modeling these awesome earrings, I had her take another picture of my hair without it tucked behind my ears.

You have to bear with me for a week or so. Every time I visit Nancy, I get accused of having my head up my rear. However, if this were true, , my hair would not look this good. Even so, my new look doesn’t come without a few complications.

Friday, I was pulling out of my driveway with Noah and I heard a blood-curling scream. I was certain I had just run over a neighbor’s child, but when I slammed on my brakes and got out, I only saw my mail lady, eyes as big as saucers, clinching her body in fear. I had no idea she had stopped in front of my mailbox as I was pulling out. She apologized for screaming at me (personally, I am very thankful she did!), and I told her that I was the one who was sorry. I informed her that if she hadn’t of screamed, I might have hit her because she was in my blind spot. As she drove away, I discovered that the reason I had a blind spot was because my rear view mirror was still pointing at me from where I had been checking myself out. Oops!

I was a tad embarrassed, especially since Noah was reprimanding me for nearly killing her. As I readjusted my mirror, I explained to him that I was pretty confident if the mail lady knew what had really happened, she would be very understanding.

This morning when I got to work, I walked by a mirror and had to stop and admire my hair. It was the first day I’ve worn it curly since getting it cut, and I think it’s how I prefer it. But then someone walked in and caught me. It was my friend Carrie. Of course she knew what I was doing, because she too goes to Nancy Nee. (And yes, she acts the same way until the spell is broken.) I’m telling you, Mrs. Nancy is all the rave, at least that’s what Carrie told our boss yesterday.

Perhaps I need to go back and reread If Only I Had a Green Nose. Sigh.

Published in: on August 6, 2008 at 1:08 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/08/06/new-earrings-and-really-great-hair/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOL.

    I’ve got this friend who always checks herself out in windows, mirrors, or any other reflective surface. Hopefully, you haven’t reached that level of narcissism just yet…

  2. It’s amazing what a new haircut can do for one’s self-esteem. You keep on a checkin’ yourself out!

  3. When I walk in the gym (at an indoor track) every runner nearly falls down gawking at themselves in the glass of the racket ball courts. Now THAT’S bad. 🙂

    I’m glad you love your haircut, it looks great! When I straighten my hair I use Paul Mitchen straightening serum, blow dry it out and flat iron it in sections. I usually dont have to fix my hair again for a couple of days afteward, so it’s not too much damage to my hair.


Leave a Reply

