Mama Mia!


This weekend, Maddie and I went on a date. We started the date off with our mama-daughter tradition: listening to John Mayer in the car. He is one of our few shared interests in music. We split a great dinner at Carrabbas, and then went to the movie of her choice, Mama Mia. And Mama Mia, was it cheesy! (F.Y.I. Mama Mia is an expression that is equivalent to saying my goodness or gee golly whiz! )

We did have fun watching it together though. Maddie and I were the only two women in the theater that did not have gray hair or the ABBA lyrics memorized. The woman sitting next to me enjoyed the movie so much that she couldn’t sit still. She was singing, dancing, and clapping continuously. She also liked talking to her friends a lot. Not cool, when I was worried that my 13 year old was going to be the one causing the distractions.

At some point, I leaned over to Maddie and said, “The woman next to me is having too much fun!” She leaned back and said, “The woman sitting next to me would rather be playing BINGO!” I looked over her shoulder and cracked up. Her neighbor was about 90 and was overheard voicing complaints. She thought the musical was much better on stage. She was a little snobbish about it too! Gasp!

The highlight of the movie was a scene between Donna (Meryl Streep) and her daughter. Donna was helping her daughter get dressed for her wedding day, and though most of the musical was cheesy, this was a very moving scene that caused me to shed a few tears. I couldn’t help but look at my own daughter and think about how that will be us in not too many years from now. And I’m pretty sure that when Maddie looked over at me, she had tears in her eyes too. Sigh.

My favorite actor in the musical was Colin Firth, better known as Mr. Darcy from Bridget Jones’ Diary. He did a great job, and continuously made me smile. I even thought his character was a bit sexy, so naturally his character ended up being gay in the end. Normally I don’t like giving spoilers, but this fact deserves to be spilled. Hollywood should stop doing this to straight women! It makes me have flashbacks to My Best Friend’s Wedding.

The worst part of the movie was Pierce Brosnan, although I’m sure he was a major reason the theater was packed with older women! No matter how great he looks, he really needs to stick to doing Bond movies. His singing made me cringe every time. OUCH!

When it was all said and done, we had a lot of laughs (some from the movie, most from our audience), shed a few tears, and definitely bonded. So maybe it wasn’t so cheesy after all:)

Published in: on July 30, 2008 at 4:22 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/07/30/mama-mia/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t really want to see it. I’m not a fan of musicals. I went and saw Hairspray. I loved it but I can’t get into any other musicals. I even hated Moulin Rouge!

  2. Oh, I love time with my mom! You’re a good woman for making sure that you have bonding time with your daughter.


Leave a Reply

