If Only I Had a Green Nose


I love children’s books. Not just because I’m an elementary school teacher or mother. I love them because of the beautiful stories they tell. Children’s authors have a way of using few words to convey powerful messages that emotionally stir the reader. If Only I had a Green Nose is one of those books. The illustrations are beautiful, but the words and theme are even moreso.

Many of you may be familiar with Max Lucado. He is a Christian author who writes many adult and children’s books. The book If Only I had a Green Nose is about a wooden puppet named Punchinello who is struggling with overcoming peer pressure in an effort to fit in. Poor Punchinello fails and must humbly come back before his maker in order to be restored to his original state. It is a moving tale, and in my opinion, it ranks right up there with C.S. Lewis’s The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe in the analogy department. If you have never heard of this book, it is worth buying and keeping around because it never hurts to be reminded every once in a while what happens to us when we try to keep up with the Joneses.

Published in: on July 29, 2008 at 12:33 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/07/29/if-only-i-had-a-green-nose/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love that book too!

  2. For beautiful illustrations and a nice storyline, try “The Salamander Room” by Anne Mazer. Steven Johnson did the illustrations and Wayne Gratz wrote a wonderful song based off of the story which can be heard in part (well, just a snippet)
    HERE
    .

    I also loved “Because I Love You” Also by Max L.

  3. I’m going to go look for this book tomorrow! I didn’t realize that it was a children’s book when you commented on it on my site. I love Max Lucado, and all of his children’s books are masterfully created. Thanks for sharing. I, too, love picture books just because of the teachable moments they so artfully inspire. Thank you for sharing.

  4. I would also recommend two handfuls of Bill Peet books. Especially:

    Eli
    Cock-A-Doodle Dudley
    Big, Bad Bruce
    Cowardly Clyde
    Cyrus the Unsinkable Sea Serpent
    The Ant and the Elephant

    There are a few others; I can’t think of the titles off the top of my head. He has a LOT of good books for teaching about kindness, etc., I also recommend reading “Westlandia” by Paul Fleischman. I share this one on the first day of school and talk to the kids about how “in this garden, there are no weeds.”

    Try them, you’ll love them!


Leave a Reply

