Watching and Waiting…

As some of you already know, I’ve been trying to start a neighborhood watch. I wish I could say it is going great, but I came home the other night in tears. Out of 6 surveys handed out, only 2 were filled out and returned to me.  I had two neighbors pretty opposed to the idea. This is tough to hear, especially when they seem oblivious to what is happening in their own front yards. On one of my last stops, I began crying while telling a man what I was trying to do. This was not intentional, but the night had been long and rough. Embarrassed, I just tearfully stated that I only wanted to keep our children safe. I don’t think he thought I was crazy, and I am pretty sure he and his wife are going to participate. He tried to make me feel better by telling me that my tears were just the result of my passion for what I’m trying to do.

I have 178 houses in my neighborhood, and so far I’ve only gotten 21 definite yeses. To be successful, I have to get 134 to participate. It is so hard for me to not get angry. Most people are very excited and see the need for putting something like this in place. But others just stare at me blankly, then ask me if I really think there’s crime.  They’ve lived here x number of years and have never seen anything. I just smile and politely tell them there’s nothing wrong with being preventative, and a lot of things are happening during the day while they are at work or really late at night while they are sleeping. Maybe I need to take the photos of the graffiti that I’ve painted over and the plastic bag of drug paraphernalia I saved from the street corner with me on my house calls. Another neighbor even suggested I look for crime stats for our neighborhood and print them out to show people. These are ideas worth considering, but I’m trying not to be pushy.

When I turned the corner back toward my house, tears still running down my face, I saw a woman knocking on my front door. She had her completed survey that I had given her the previous day, and she wanted a few more to pass out. She is a woman a bit older than me, and much wiser, and she had such encouraging words. She thanked me for my braveness, and told me that “they” will come in time. (They being the ones I cannot convince.) It might not be in my timeframe, but WE will convince them eventually. She thinks that as more and more neighbors start talking about the program and building it up, that skepticism will lesson and more will join forces. It was so nice to know that I had a neighbor willing to step in and help. God always amazes me in all the different ways he comforts me, and this time he did it by sending a special person with a special message.

I took my husband’s advice this weekend, and I took a break from the door knocking. He has offered to hand out the remaining surveys himself so that I’m less stressed, but something inside me wants to keep at it, even though it’s so difficult for me to do. He suggested he and other neighbors that are more “thick-skinned” and less paranoid do the soliciting. I can still help by organizing the ordeal from home. I think that I’ll do a bit of both. When it gets too much, I’ll step back a bit, and when I am reenergized, I’ll put my walking shoes on and start walking and knocking again:) I’m too darn stubborn to quit, especially after watching The Dark Knight this weekend. By the way, where’s Batman when you need him?

Published in: on July 28, 2008 at 12:44 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/07/28/watching-and-waiting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. If I lived in your neighborhood I would help you! I can’t believe people don’t want to have one. We have recently started one in our neighborhood after a break in. It is a good thing.

  2. Bless your heart! Sometimes getting large numbers of people to act in unison is like pulling teeth. I hope that others will help you and ease some of your stress. Good for you though.. I would particpiate if my neighborhood did it!

  3. You go, girl! I admire you for furthering a cause. I love people with a cause. Hang in there!

  4. I think that what you’re doing is a great thing. It’s sad when people don’t see something which, as you so eloquently said, is preventative. I heard a quote a few years ago which went something like, “Prevention is better than cure.”

    Keep administering the vaccine!

  5. I think it’s great that you’re trying to do this ~ And I know that, in time, people will come around.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog ~ How did you find me?

    I look forward to reading more from you!
    Blessings,
    liz @ abrightfuture

    P.S. – To answer your question, yes I am a Christian. And I know that He has a plan. And a way. And even when the ex makes me want to scream and cry and throw a fit, He is in control.


Leave a Reply

