Reward if Found!

This is Carrie.


She is my reformed muffin mix friend. Over lunch the other day she began talking about the list of qualities she was seeking in a mate. Her uncle crunched the numbers and dishearteningly informed her that the man she is looking for is at least 1 in a million, and she might consider revising her list. She did. She added (in red) that men with annoying voices need not apply.

When she was telling me about this, I remembered that I had made a list in my journal right before I met Chris. I told her I would look it up and share it with her. I wrote it on January 1, 2006. (It must have been what I did instead of resolutions that year.) I met Chris two months later. My list of qualifications consisted of the following in no particular order of importance:

  1. Must be stable (financially, spiritually, mentally, and emotionally)
  2. Financially stable (apparently this was a biggie for me at the time.)
  3. Honest
  4. Dependable
  5. Supportive of me
  6. Ambitious (within reason)
  7. Christian
  8. Kind and Generous
  9. Fun to be with
  10. Comfortable enough to be myself around him

I remember anytime I dated or thought about dating someone I would go back to this list, and if something didn’t apply, especially the comfort aspect, I nipped the possible relationship in the bud. I felt my list consisted of deal-breakers, and nothing on the list was worth sacrificing.

I remember sharing my list with Chris after we’d been dating a while, and the only one he didn’t think he fit was ambitious. I reminded him that in parenthesis was within reason. Basically my criteria was the man must have a desire to hold down a regular, stable-paying job. I did not want a husband constantly trying to climb the ladder of success, nor did I want one that preferred laying around the house all day watching Maury Povich. I wanted a working, yet available mate.

Needless to say, he made the list. And I’m so glad he did. 🙂

Carrie decided the best way to find that one in a millionth guy was to put out an ad and offer a reward for  him. It looks like this:

I edited out her phone number, but if you know a good fella that qualifies, feel free to comment me with his contact info. This muffin mix gal is ready to become a full-fledged prairie muffin!! I did notice that there was no mention of what the reward is. I guess the reward will be a picky wife? OUCH!!

Published in: on July 25, 2008 at 6:22 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/07/25/reward-if-found/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. What a good friend you are! I felt like I was becoming an old maid when I met Brian. I think that women, especially those in the south, just assume that they’ll meet their husbands in college and then ride off into the sunset shortly there after. When it didn’t happen that way, I enterd full-fledged panic mode. However, God did some major work on my heart and attitudes, and in HIS perfect timing, he brought Brian into my life. He’s nothing like I pictured my husband to be, but absolutely a perfect match for me. Tell her to hang in there, totally available to the Lord. I know it can be rough.


Leave a Reply

