Update:

Contractor #3 looked nothing like Heidi from Home Improvement.
Instead she looked more like this but with longer hair and a glass eye, and yes, I’m pretty sure she had a glass eye. (I would have taken a real photo, but Maddie still has my camera!)

She was a nice enough lady, but obviously knew nothing about how to replace a tub. She took pictures of it, measured it, and then left. I could have emailed that information to her. I asked her how long it would take to get an actual estimate, and she said 1-3 days depending on how long it took her to look up and price the materials, because she doesn’t actually do the work. I knew it was too good to be true!

So now it’s appears to be between Contractor #1 and Contractor #2. Contractor #1 has four kids, and seemed a great family man. Contractor #2 was knowledgeable about bathrooms, but was obviously a salesman. I do not expect to see him on the job site doing any physical labor. At one point he did joke and tell me that I could agree to redoing the whole bathroom and just tell Chris when he got home. I forgot to laugh, and politely informed him that was not how I did business. It’s tough because I’m leaning toward each one for different reasons. I can put Contractor #2’s bill on the credit card, which makes me feel a bit safer, but I’m still not sure if I buy into his snake-oil sales pitch. I’ve thought about hiring #1 to install some floors and #2 to do the bathroom, but I don’t want to insult #1.

Oh. What to do, what to do?

Published in: on July 24, 2008 at 4:44 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/07/24/update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

