Long Overdue Spring Cleaning

This past weekend was one of the best weekends I’ve had in I couldn’t tell ya how long. For the first time in ages, I was able to spend Saturday morning cleaning. I cleaned and cleaned and cleaned. It was wonderful and exciting! And no, I’m not being sarcastic. I cannot believe that cleaning has become a joyous and invigorating past time. I don’t think it was the specific act of cleaning that I found so delightful. Instead I think it had more to do with the joy I found in finding the time to clean. Life really has been too busy lately, and for once things felt “relaxed”. Unfortunately, I only had time to clean most of my downstairs rooms, but maybe if I’m lucky I’ll find time to get to some of the upstairs rooms later this week…

Since this has become such a rarity, I thought I would post pictures of my house clean. That way I can prove to anyone that has visited in the last several months or so that laundry isn’t always piled on the dining room table, papers aren’t always piled on counters and the landing pad, the carpet does get vacuumed, and the hard floors do get mopped.
FYI: A “landing pad” is a functional piece of furniture that my husband insists we own. It’s where our things “land” at the end of the day so the rest of the house doesn’t get cluttered.

Here is the dining room. Notice there are no folded clothes on it begging to be put away. This room also contains the window we get to watch the drug dealers from…

The kitchen got cleaned:)

Here is the landing pad with nothing on it. I temporarily removed items from this invaluable horizontal surface to make my hubby happy.

Finally, here is my living room. Chris and Noah are playing Guitar Hero. It’s one of their favorite things to do. So much so, that Chris began having strange thoughts about being in a real band.. (If you look closely, you’ll notice the landing pad in its natural state.)

Too bad the camera didn’t zoom, because a lot of the walls got washed down too. If I didn’t know better, I’d think I was nesting:) No, that’s not a hint!!

Published in: on July 15, 2008 at 11:55 am  Comments (3)