Take Back Your Neighborhood!


The other day I posted about fear stemming from crime in my neighborhood. It’s funny because not even a month ago my husband wrote about how much he loved the community in our neighborhood. And then our other neighbor’s fence was tagged right next to my bedroom window. Talk about destroying a sense of community. It took me no time at all to paint over it. It freaked me out that someone was able to do this at night without us hearing or seeing them. I never thought about it before now, but having the house on the corner may be something to avoid.

I am not certain who tagged this corner, or what their intentions were. What I do know is they tagged a lot more than a fence. They tagged shock, fear, anger, vulnerability and a lot of other negative emotions in me. God is already coming through (when does He not?), because the fear is beginning to diminish. In fact, I am beginning to feel proactive. I’ve done a little research, and my husband and I are hoping to initiate a neighborhood watch. I found a great article with tips on how to take back your neighborhood. Although many of the tips seem to be for more extreme conditions, it’s great to know what other neighborhoods are doing. I am including the link in case you too are interested in “taking a bite out of crime.”

Please continue to pray for us. We will gather the most strength in large numbers. We need active participants in our neighborhood who are not afraid to take a stand.

Published in: on June 19, 2008 at 7:02 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/06/19/take-back-your-neighborhood/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I think it’s important to get to know your neighbors and watch out for one another. I’m lucky in the fact that there are several retirees on my street who are home all day and very observant. You can always ask your police department to increase patrols in your area. You might also talk to their street crimes detectives to get more info on trends in the area.

    I really appreciate your comments on my blog. My younger sister has a jack russell that she rescued and they are a handful. Look forward to reading more of your blog.


Leave a Reply

