NO Deal!

Well, I met the bike I blogged about on Friday and took her for a test drive. She failed to meet my expectations. She was too heavy, too hard to pedal, and the front brakes weren’t working. I tried to negotiate, but I didn’t have much luck with that either. The woman selling her was only willing to come down $10, which might have paid for the brake repair, but not the hassle. I guess the deal was too good to be true.

So, I got to thinking that maybe a 7 gear cruiser would be better. Unfortunately, no one but Target had one in stock, and they would not allow me to test drive it because they thought I was a liability. However the salesman and manager (yes, I asked to speak to a manager!) told me 7 gears should be all I needed and that I could always purchase it and return it within 90 days. So, I did. However, it didn’t take 90 minutes, much less days for me to decide that she wouldn’t work for me.
null

Despite being pepto pink, she is a cutie. However, she didn’t live up to the great online reviews that had been given to her. No matter how low of a gear I put her in, I ended up carrying her up the hill, and I’m pretty sure it’s supposed to be the other way around.

After days of internet research, several trips to various bike shops, Wal-Mart and Target, I decided that I really didn’t want to skimp in style. I want to have FUN riding my bike. I want people to stare at me when I ride by because my bike is so cute they can’t take their eyes off it. I want people to say “WOW! I want one of those!”

I am not normally this materialistic. We own a 2003 Honda Odyssey and a 2000 Honda Civic. Although both are practical and very functional, there is nothing stylish about either. However, after looking at stylish after stylish bicycle, I decided I was going to have to give it up and go with practical and functional. My husband is rubbing off on me:)

I ended up opting for functionality and practicality, but no matter how hard I tried, I could not sacrifice style on this purchase. I shopped and shopped and shopped until I found a bike that met my expectations: The 2008 Trek 7100. She rides great; she’s functional; she’s practical; and she’s stylish!! She is actually a hybrid bike, but she has a very vintage look about her. This is as close to a cruiser as I’m going to get. Besides, she rides much better than any cruiser I looked at!

She’ll be even cuter with a wicker basket and bell! I had a hard time landing this bike. Unfortunately, the 2009 models are being released, so a lot of stores only want to sell you the new model rather than just ordering you the older one. (There were only 26 left!) This makes sense considering they hacked the price up over $100 on the new model! (The new model is exactly the same except for the color; the new model is a robin’s egg blue, which is o.k., but I like this salmon color much better. It’s unique and better complements the leather seat and hand grips. O.K. Elise, FOCUS!)

Because of gas prices, more people are going green, and bike companies have decided to cash in by suddenly raising all their prices at an astronomical rate. Fortunately, I am too stubborn to fall for their ploys. My persistence saved me about $130, but unfortunately I still don’t consider my purchase a DEAL. I still spent a considerable amount more than I had hoped. I am nervous about how much I spent, but I am excited and cannot wait for her to come in. I am able to feel muscles in my rear and upper thighs I haven’t felt in years just from all the test riding I’ve been doing. I am hoping this will help me get off the last 10-15 pounds I want to lose. Now that will be worth every penny!

Published in: on June 17, 2008 at 3:52 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/06/17/no-deal/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

