Kindred Spirits

Isn’t amazing how God always surrounds us with others who we can connect to? The move to Duluth was HUGE for me. I was so worried about leaving my close friends and family behind. However, God has blessed me with some pretty awesome new friends, and that has helped with the homesickness. I am not completely cured, but my new kindred spirits have caught on to when I might need cheering up, especially one in particular.

Recently I received some rather unsettling news that caught me off guard, it seemed my children were turning against me, I was stressed out from starting graduate school, and I was anxious concerning an upcoming trip. (What can I say, I’m wound a little too tight.) I went in to work, and someone had laid a bag stuffed full of goodies on my desk. Inside it was the latest Country Home magazine, a huge chocolate bar with a note attached, a copy of the Juno soundtrack, and a list of conversation starters. Only one person here would know to get me that magazine, my new good friend Carrie. Of course she tried to deny it, but who else besides my husband would come up with something as special and random as that? Yeah, God is good…

And thanks to Carrie, if you’re stuck and don’t know what to say, I picked out a few of the best for you:
-What if the Hokey Pokey is what it’s all about?
-Why doesn’t glue stick to the inside of the bottle?
-Can a cross-eyed teacher control his pupils?
-If you only have one eye, are you blinking or winking?
-If you have a gun and you ask, “Can I ask you a question?” and they say “Fire away!” should you shoot them?
-Why does Sea World have a seafood restaurant?

Maddie is fascinated with two of these. The one eyed question and the glue question. She can’t stop talking about them:)

Published in: on May 18, 2008 at 6:02 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2008/05/18/kindred-spirits/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

