I’m getting married!!

Well, I’m back and ready to reveal the second reason I’ve been too busy to post. And the reason is…. I’m engaged!! I haven’t been able to publish this news on the web, because we had not told Chris’s family. He wanted to tell them in person when we went to Birmingham to visit for Thanksgiving. His family is excited. My family is excited. Heck, we’re all excited! I’ve waited so long to meet someone that I’m so happy with. I’ve been busy making some early preparations, and so far I’ve been very blessed. It’s not easy planning a wedding on a single mom/educator’s salary. I have already found the perfect wedding and bridesmaid gowns at better than perfect prices. My flower girl dress is purchased, my headpiece and jewelry is purchased. Everything seems to falling right into place.

The proposal was nothing fancy. Chris spent an entire weekend catering around my favorites: he took me to favorite restaurants for dinners and breakfasts, watched Anne of Green Gables with me, took me to see a movie in the theatre, sent me to a fancy spa with my best friend for an afternoon, and made reservations at the restaurant we were supposed to eat at on our first date but couldn’t find (This is where he intended to propose.) He had even asked the restaurant to play our favorite romance music overhead while we ate.

We had an hour to kill Sunday afternoon between our movie and dinner reservations. We decided to grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, which happened to be where we first met. The moment felt right to him, so he pulled out the ring and asked me while we were sipping our coffee outside of the coffee shop. It was perfect! I got to say yes to becoming his wife right where I first saw and met him.

It is so true that when God closes a door, he opens a window. I feel like the luckiest woman in the world!

Chris also announced our engagement on his website. It is well-worth checking out.

Published in: on November 28, 2006 at 3:32 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elisebarnette.wordpress.com/2006/11/28/20/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. BEAUTIFUL! I checked out Chris website and absolutely LOVE that family picture with the perfect cat. You guys are so creative. Comments are closed so I didn’t get to comment there.

    What better place then Starbucks. We have so many great memories at Starbucks around the country, mostly Chicago and Arizona though. And now, good ol Kansas City.

    Cheers to best friends beginning a new season of life together!

    So happy for you-
    Sharla

  2. Sharla,
    Thank you for the congrats! You always have such encouraging things to say.

    The perfect cat in the picture isn’t a cat at all. It’s actually Chris’s old Pomeranian, Chew Bear. She passed away this summer while I was taking care of her:( The photo is supposed to be her in her angelic form.

    The reason that my son and the other dog are in my square is because neither of them let me out of their sights. We call them Marsupial 1 and Marsupial 2. The dog that is so obsessed with me isn’t even mine yet. He’s Chris’s. He would prefer to be my dog though. He’s obsessed with me. That’s why Chris had them leaning into my square and me rolling my eyes. That’s how it is always. Me and my two marsupials…

  3. Congratulations!

    I bet this secret burned a hole in your pocket as badly as your ring burned a hole in his. 🙂

    Many life-long blessings to you!

    Phil—

  4. Thanks for the blessings, Phil. We will have many, I’m certain. God has done nothing but bless our relationship since the time we met. Surprisingly, it gets better and better. I cannot wait to spend a lifetime ministering to others as husband and wife. It’s going to be awesome!

  5. Many Congratulations to the both of you!! Chris and I were friends who lost touch over the years. Please pass along my congrats to Chris–he was always a great friend. Whether or not he realizes it, during one of our last conversations in 1998, he changed my life for the better. Many times, we go through life and touch people and never realize it. I feel blessed to have stumbled upon your website and have the opportunity to tell Chris thank you. Again, may all of the world’s happiness shine down upon both of you!


Leave a Reply

